Kind and encouraging exchange of ideas among friends…for everyday life

The kinder we are with ourselves…the happier we’re going to be…and passing that along to others

~

~

Throughout the  past 4 years, I’ve been kindly and consistently nurtured along with many ideas, particularly the ideas  in this post. (and the entire blog)  I’ve been encouraged to develop the understanding and awareness that nurturing and developing more “happiness” within oneself isn’t “selfish” or “self absorbed”… that nurturing our own happiness can be of tremendous benefit to others, too.  These “perspectives” seemed so surprising to me for such a long time…but now, I’m seeing how “true” and helpful they are.   My sincere thanks to Jampa, for helping me, and all of us who stop by and read his ideas,  realize how important these perspectives are.  I’m still learning…but am progressing along. I hope these ideas might be helpful to others, too.  Warmly, Kathy

~

~

the kinder we are with ourselves, the happier we'll be

~

Ideas from Kathy…based on ideas from Jampa….

Perhaps some of us who tend to be “helpers” or “nurturers” may not be offering as much kindness or compassion to ourselves?  Maybe we’ve “misunderstood” or  misperceived, and think it’s  bit “selfish” or “self absorbed” to be more nurturing or compassionate with ourselves?

Or perhaps we’ve held ourselves up to overly high “standards” or “demands”  for ourselves?…. at times, comparing ourselves unfavorably with others?  seeing where there might be perceived areas of need in ourselves, rather than focusing on areas of strengths? It’s so easy to slip into those less kind points of view…and so potentially harmful for both ourselves and others. Maybe we thought those overly high expectations led to happiness?  I suppose I might have thought that they would. But…they didn’t…and they don’t!

Through the past few years I’ve learned differently!  I’ve observed that the kinder, more nurturing and compassionate I am with myself, the happier I’ve become. And the happier I’ve become,  the more I’ve passed that happiness along to others in my life.

Strangely enough, this increasing of self kindness, self compassion and nurturing my own happiness  (which did not come “naturally”),  has led to more happiness in others, too!  What a wonderful surprise that’s been!

~

kinder with ourselves..happier we become

~

kinder sharing with others happier they'll be

~

kinder with ourselves  the more happiness for others

~

kinder with ourselves benefits everyone

~

kinder with ourselves nurturing and sharing happiness

~

~

~

~

I added this post to Pocket Perspectives today, too…
I think these ideas are so important for each one of us…

Leave a Reply

