Kind and encouraging exchange of ideas among friends…for everyday life

600 A.D: A Catholic Irish Monk’s “Sacred Healing Well”….. 2013: words from a Buddhist monk… “you were a good friend and you loved her dearly….”

~

A Catholic Irish Monk’s Sacred Healing Well,
The Burren, Ireland
600 A.D.
We visited this healing spring, well and cave a few weeks ago…
a mystical, spiritual and moving site

~An Irish Monk's Sacred Healing Well, 600 AD

~

~

~

A beautiful little “altar,” lovingly built by a sweet young woman who was visiting the well that day
resting on the rock above the well

Sacred healing well, diorama

~

The monk’s cave….where he lived during his 7 year retreat at this site

~

healing well, monk's retreat cave

~

…healing…
progressing through the past several weeks…
“you were a good friend and you loved her dearly,”
love, loss, acceptance, understanding, compassion and wisdom,
through the ages, across faiths and traditions.
Learning the essence of
The Four Noble Truths,
from Ven. Jampa, a Buddhist monk, 2013

~

you were a good friend and you loved her dearly

~

~

the lovely waters of the tiny little healing spring and sacred well

~

Healing waters of the spring and well, The Burren, Ireland

~

….a lovely spot….

~

~

5 responses

  1. a lovely spot to leave behind any feelings of regret and come away truly knowing you were a good friend and loved her dearly. Namaste

    July 29, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    • thank you Joss, it was one of the most special spots I’ve ever been to…truly beautiful….and timely too….
      I’m still missing Nali, but thankfully, with time it’s becoming more moderated…that mother bear, fiercely protective instinct seems to have gotten woken up….wanting to keep loved ones alive, healthy and happy, (Nali included)…. but I’m learning acceptance and repeatedly reasoning my way through that, too. I had no idea that I had so much to learn…absolutely no idea…I’m so surprised ….but I seem to be slowly learning, so that’s good.

      July 29, 2013 at 1:56 pm

  2. What a blessing to be in such beautiful surroundings. Jampa’s note is filled with love and wisdom. I see the love with his wanting to help you ease the suffering over losing Nali.

    Read the comments, and I find that when life gives us a painful challenge parts that we didn’t know we had in us come up to the surface. When I was in a world of deafness last year, I didn’t know I could experience despair. I don’t think I ever experienced this feeling in even with the ups and downs of life, but thankfully this overwhelming despair lasted only two days. I realized I needed to do more work on myself as other emotions came up…

    July 30, 2013 at 12:51 am

    • It was a truly beautiful spot…a place for deep reflection through 1000’s of years. The depth of value from sustained quiet reflection has lessened in some traditions and is so precious.
      Yes, Jampa offers such love and wisdom…and such gentle nurturing in helping with the acceptance and transition. I am so thankful. I think one reason that I was able to smoothly cope with the mistakes is from the ideas I’ve learned and practiced with and from him.
      I was talking on the phone with Jampa yesterday and he mentioned how being plunged into the midst of reacting to life’s unexpected “happenings” leads us to accelerated progress…that we often don’t realize the “limitations” we might have in our understanding until such life experiences actually happen….and so to be as kind, patient and loving with ourselves as we can be and simply start learning and practicing with what happens as we react….or as we cope and understand more.
      Marie, what a trying time that was for you last year… I’m so sorry …I’m so thankful the despair has lifted for you and that you’re making such lovely progress….and sharing your insights with others. It sound like the cognitive ideas you’re studying help so much….they help me too. Maybe people with depths of tender feelings and emotions benefit strongly from that balance?… especially when the cognitive layers are presented and combined with compassion and love…. I’m so happy for you as you “progress”…. 🙂 And, Maire… I deeply appreciate you sharing your ideas and insights…thank you so much…

      July 30, 2013 at 8:42 am

  3. I am now focused on learning mindfulness. I really think this is the missing key for me. I ordered “Buddha’s Brain” from Amazon last night. I have been wanting to take an online mindfulness course but the couple or so that I found have video instructions which I won’t hear well.

    I also enjoy our exchanges, it nurtures the soul, helps with growth. 🙂

    July 30, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

