Sharing encouraging ideas….

decreasing “seeking approval”… going back to our own positive motivation and intention

~

~

positive motivation and intention, instead of seeking "approval"

~

“seeking approval”… sometimes, it seems to be an ongoing challenge in everyday life.  At times, creating and sharing our blog posts might also set off  feelings of wishing for “approval”… ( at least it sometimes has for me  (kathy) )   But it can be an ongoing challenge in ordinary everyday life, too!

~

So….
again and again and again,
learning to go back to one’s own positive motivation and intention in whatever we do,
and being content with that.

~

I’ve received many good ideas for getting past this  “challenge” from Ven. Jampa, and also from other books and websites.  One source with lots of good ideas, the huge website of Ven. Thubten Chondron, a Buddhist nun at Sravasti Abbey, in Washington,  has a list of ideas for “antidotes” for a feeling of need or desire for  “praise.”

I did a copy paste in May of that online list of ideas from Ven. Thubten Chodron’s teachings  and find the ideas helpful.  (I had changed several words in that list, for sharing with several friends who don’t practice Buddhism, so it wasn’t just specific to Dharma/Buddhist practitioners…I think the ideas are potentially helpful for anyone )  I’ve searched and searched, but can’t find that original document in the website, so can’t directly link it in this post.  Here’s a link to part of her website that has many, many good ideas for practicing positive living in daily life. “Ven. Thubten Chodron, Daily Life Dharma”

I’ll share some of those ideas here, in case any of the ideas might be helpful to anybody else.

~

antidotes for "seeking" approval  from Thubten Chodron's website

~

~

And so… going back, again and again,
to acting out of our own positive motivation and intention…
“a mind that wishes to be be helpful and positive”
our positive motivation and intention are what counts

~

~

Postive motivation and intentions are what counts

~

~

Link to a related previous post on Pocket Perspectives,
with some ideas I’m learning about “Eight Worldly Winds”
(one pair of which is “seeking praise- not wanting blame” )
from my other blog…. Pocket Perspectives….
“Eight Worldly Concerns…developing greater understanding, awareness and balance”

“Eight Worldly Winds” that tend to “drive us”…
and might send our minds into “spins”
seeking pleasure – avoiding pain,
seeking gain – avoiding loss,
seeking praise – avoiding blame,
seeking positive recognition – avoiding disrepute

~

My (Kathy’s) version of understanding of ideas I’m learning… image is one of several from that linked Pocket Perspectives post

Eight Worldly Winds

~

Another link to an excellent Ven. Thubten Chodron one page explanation of  Eight Worldly Concerns: gain – loss, praise – blame, good reputation – bad reputation, pleasure – pain

~

I hope some of these ideas might be helpful….
they’re helpful for me, so I thought I’d share a few of them with others…

(Kathy)

~

Added a few hours later: a photo, below, of a “windspinner” mobile that  I recently made… each section of it  being like a “representation” of one person’s mind… nice and still,  until a bit of breeze or wind comes along…and then…whoosh!… away it goes…spinning around!  Oh, the power of those 8 Worldly Winds to set off spinning!

My purpose in making this was to use this physical representation to help me to see how our minds can spin….and how the minds of those people around us, the other spinners,  start spinning, too!  In addition, I wanted to become more aware of how we might start spinning around, just being next to one of those spinners…or they get spinning around being near our spinning….or all together…. a large, interconnected, interdependent mobile…with the potential for “spinning”  away.

  (btw….those spinners do spin, but they don’t seem to spin as much, or as fast,  as others that I’ve made…not the way I “expected” they would. Perhaps I accidentally created “minds” more similar to  monks’ or nuns’ minds???… rather than overly active minds more similar to my own? Perhaps, I created a possibility…the potential in each one of us…. of slowing it all down?…. 🙂    I sure hope so! )

Eight Worldly Winds windspinner mobile

~

Leave a Reply

